MANDATORY SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION PROGRAM
Sex Offender Registration
The Pitt County Sheriff’s Office Sex Offender Compliance Officer registers and confirms the addresses of registered offenders. The Compliance Officer also works closely with our Investigations Division to arrest and prosecute those offenders in violation of North Carolina General Statutes.
The North Carolina Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry was established in January 1996 following the enactment of Article 27A of Chapter 14 of the North Carolina General Statutes (NCGS 14-208.5). This law requires a person who is a resident of North Carolina and who has a reportable conviction to maintain registration with the Sheriff of the county in which the person resides.
If the person moves to North Carolina from another state, the person shall register within 3 days of establishing residency in this state or after the person has been present in the state for 15 days, whichever comes first. All sex offenders living in Pitt County are required to register by North Carolina Law.
Frequently asked questions
Can a sex offender be around children?
Yes. The law prohibits sex offenders from accepting a minor into their care or custody that is not their child. It also prevents them from going to certain locations where “children frequently congregate when children are present,” parks, and school property.
Can a sex offender live near children?
Can I be notified if a sex offender moves into my neighborhood?
Yes, you can sign up at signup.ncsbi.gov to receive notifications when a sex offender moves within 1, 3 or 5 miles of your residence.
How do I report a possible registration violation?
You may contact our Sex Offender Compliance Officer at 252-902-2653, Crime Stoppers at 252-758-7777, or our communications center 24 hours a day at (252) 830-4141.